Winners Declared in Peekskill Common Council Race


Two running mates of Peekskill mayor-elect Frank Catalina will be joining him on the Common Council in January.

According to the final results of the November 5 election that were posted on Thursday following the tabulations of 176 absentee ballots, Republican Joe Torres was the top vote getter with 2,103 votes for one of the three available seats. Incumbent Deputy Mayor Drew Claxton finished in second place with 2,094 votes and Republican Vincent “Boo” Vesce was third with 2,058 votes.

Narrowly missing for a second four-year term was Democrat Marybeth McGowan with 2,055 votes. Republican Chris Hanzlik also just fell short with 2,049 votes, while incumbent Democrat Andrew Torres was a distant sixth with 1,993 votes.

The Democrats will remain in control of the council by a 4-3 margin, thanks in part to the victory of Vivian McKenzie over Leslie Detres, 2,121 to 1,864. They squared off in a special election to serve the final two years of former Councilman Don Bennett’s unexpired term.