The Putnam Examiner

Mahopac Budget Voted Down, Others in Putnam Approved

We are part of The Trust Project

Voters in Mahopac showed their displeasure Tuesday, as the Mahopac School District’s budget was defeated with 2,146 votes against and 1,801 voting yes; both incumbents were also voted out of office. Mike Sclafani, Raymond Cote and Leslie Mancuso easily topped incumbents Richard LaFredo and Theresa Matuck, as well as Bruno Pesavento.

It was the only budget to fail in Putnam, as the Garrison, Carmel, Haldane, Brewster and Putnam Valley school districts each saw their budgets pass.

Incumbents also carried the day outside of Mahopac. Alberta Kozma and Gerald Schramek were re-elected over Daniel Armstrong in Brewster, while in Putnam Valley, incumbents Valerie Fitzgerald, the board president, and David Spittal were elected over former trustee Marie Zarcone. In the other three Putnam district, incumbents ran unopposed.

We'd love for you to support our work by joining as a free, partial access subscriber, or by registering as a full access member. Members get full access to all of our content, and receive a variety of bonus perks like free show tickets. Learn more here.