The Examiner

Contested Elections in Three Local School Board Races

We are part of The Trust Project

Uncontested school board races has become the norm in recent years, but in next month’s elections there will be something at stake in three area school districts.

On May 17, voters will decide the outcome of races in Chappaqua, Mount Pleasant and Bedford. Candidates in the Byram Hills and Pleasantville school districts will run unopposed.

Incumbents Warrant Messner, the current president, and Jeffrey Mester will run for re-election in Chappaqua and will be joined on the ballot by challenger Rhonda Kaufman. There are two seats available.

In the Mount Pleasant School District incumbents Theresa Fowler and Christopher Pinchiaroli are being challenged by Celia Cannata and Vincent Graci in the race for two school board seats.

The Bedford School District, where candidates run for specific seats, each one of the incumbents will have one challenger. Jennifer Gerken will face off against Michelle Brooks, incumbent Suzanne Grant will be up against Pam Harney and Trustee Michael Solomon will be pitted against Beth Staropoli.

In one of the two uncontested races, current Byram Hills board President Robin Glat is running for re-election. She will be joined by two newcomers – Lara Spangel and Mia DiPietro. Two other incumbents, Alban Burke and Joyce Meiklejohn, have decided against running for re-election.

Pleasantville is also without a contested election this year. No other candidate is challenging two-term board member and current president Shane McGaffey for the only seat with an expiring term this year.




We'd love for you to support our work by joining as a free, partial access subscriber, or by registering as a full access member. Members get full access to all of our content, and receive a variety of bonus perks like free show tickets. Learn more here.